Angels are the messengers of the gods and are far more ancient than either Judaism or Christianity would suggest. They are made of light itself, and are protective creatures of ultimate good. The word angel means "messenger"

The Angels of the ancient Hebrew people were separated into ten classes:
1. Bene Elohim
2. Cherubim
3. Erelim
4. Hashmalim
5. Ishim
6. Malachim
7. Ophannim
8. Seraphim
9. Sishanim
10. Tarshishim

The Angels in the Koran have different jobs: nineteen deal with Hell-Fire, eight support the throne of God. Several others take the souls of the deserving to Heaven when their physical bodies die. Two stay with each human during their life. One recording good deeds, the other bad deeds.

The ancient Syrians had nine types of Angels separated into three classes:

Upper Class:
  • Cheribum
  • Thrones
  • Seraphim
  • Middle Class:
  • Lords
  • Powers
  • Rulers
  • Lower Class:
  • Angels
  • Archangels
  • Principalities
  • Back to Creatures Page